Belus backfire?

Advanced Rules Discussion

Belus backfire?

Postby Arakis » Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:22 pm

I was playing a test match a bit ago. In it, I had both Belus and Enormous Frog on the field. Several times during the game, Belus had engaged the unit I wanted Froggy to go after (like a 0AT Proxy). So I summoned Sylph and made sure the frog's start skill went first. This part worked--I engaged a Healing Priest (only 20AT). But then Belus' skill went off...and nothing happened to the other two unengaged enemy units. I wasn't paying full attention at the time, but it looked like the game tried to re-engage the engaged Priest. Has anyone else seen this happen? If so, then lesson learned: Don't make the frog outhop Belus because you might waste a start skill.
Arakis
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:08 pm
Location: Amish country

Re: Belus backfire?

Postby Peralisc2 » Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:26 pm

Yes yes, played lawtia mid + frog + aurora very long time ago ... someone fix that please ... why does belus engage something already engaged?
ImageImage
Alteil is pretty much well balanced. Sometimes you loose and sometimes the enemy wins.
Peralisc2
 
Posts: 7031
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:38 pm
Location: planet of the self-proclaimed evolving apes

Re: Belus backfire?

Postby Phenoca » Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:38 pm

Agreed. Though I have not experienced this difficulty.
flood + Pakistan = hunger
User avatar
Phenoca
 
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 1:25 am

Re: Belus backfire?

Postby Phades » Mon Jun 22, 2009 5:58 pm

Similar code to fire tornado targeting, although the resolutions between them should have had more logic applied to them to prevent repeat effects.
Phades
 
Posts: 568
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:15 pm

Re: Belus backfire?

Postby Verily » Mon Jun 22, 2009 7:56 pm

I've had this occur so often when using Curse Spell when Belus is on the field. ;;
Verily
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:36 am

Re: Belus backfire?

Postby ANIMEniac » Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:03 pm

I think his effect just says engage random unit. It does not check to see if it already engaged, or else it would say engage disengaged enemy unit. Luck of the draw, you just ended up engaging the same unit.
User avatar
ANIMEniac
 
Posts: 1390
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:56 pm

Re: Belus backfire?

Postby Logress » Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:54 pm

Some engaging effects only hit disengaged units, like Screech, others (like Bash) can hit either disengaged or already engaged units. Generally in the second case, because of the disadvantage, it doesn't combo well with other engaging strategies and is aslo cheaper or easier to do, to make up for it.
"Scissors are overpowered. Rock is fine." -Paper
Logress
 
Posts: 6314
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 9:36 am

Re: Belus backfire?

Postby Artist » Wed Jul 29, 2009 12:23 pm

Yeah I was using Belus earlier and I noticed what it said:

Engage one random enemy unit of level 4 or below.


It doesn't say "Engage one random DISENGAGED enemy unit of level 4 or below," meaning that you may end up engaging an engaged unit.
User avatar
Artist
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 5:44 pm

Re: Belus backfire?

Postby NoFish » Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:37 am

Counterpoint: Scylla SS's doesn't say anything like that either, but that ability never seems to hit something already engaged. I don't think I'm alone in requesting clarification on the card for these two?
NoFish
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 2:03 am
Location: NYC

Re: Belus backfire?

Postby Romdeau » Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:26 am

NoFish wrote:Counterpoint: Scylla SS's doesn't say anything like that either, but that ability never seems to hit something already engaged. I don't think I'm alone in requesting clarification on the card for these two?

So what card are you using that engages units constantly on open the same turn your Scylla soul triggers?
User avatar
Romdeau
 
Posts: 7341
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:14 am
Location: California, USA

Next

Return to Vordore's War Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest