Current Meta breakdown for beginners

Strategies and Card File Construction

Current Meta breakdown for beginners

Postby DocWatson » Wed Aug 06, 2008 11:30 am

Well, I'm by no means an expert at this game, however there've been a few really good strategies I've seen dominating the current meta. For those of you that're new, I hope this helps!

Let's get this thing off with the monster that was seriously dominating the Summer Fun tournament, that's right, the Eskatia based Lawtia deck. There's a reason this thing is both reviled and adored by players across the game (usually a sign of a truly heavy hitter), it's efficient, has a very good way to lockdown the opponent, and is irritating to counter. The primary card that the deck is based around is the Ruler of Crest, Eskatia. She's got the ability to start off every turn at Night, enabling those lycanthropes and Moonlight Warriors the ability to just dominate, add to the fact that she has a ranged penetrate ability and she's one sturdy card! You'll note, however, that she's almost always a back row card in matches and this is due to two reasons: 1. Girl's got no defense, and 2. At only 30 hp she proves that nobility really can't take a punch.

The current startup for this deck seems to be raising sphere level to 2, then summoning a Shade into a Moonlight Warrior the next turn (trust me, the plan is so cookiecutter that the backlash potential in the mirror match is amazingly high). The problem with this deck is that once it gets a foothold it's INCREDIBLY difficult to get back in the game. Typically what one will see in the first SSC will be (ironically) the Refess card Dragonrider, Wasseir. Seeing as the Lawtia player will almost always opt to let his shade die and bounce one of your offending starters, severely wrecking your opening.